My Take on This Gen Y Debate

Real life starts in two months. Across Canada, graduating university students are feeling a mix of excitement and anxiety as reality creeps upon us.

On top of juggling coursework, midterms, a major research project, an internship and a part-time job, I’m  frantically searching for job opportunities and trying to keep a positive attitude a midst drowning in debates of what milennials can expect over our projected lifetime. No matter what stance you take – the truth is we have a long, bumpy road ahead of us.

I have friends who have already applied to jobs in the dozens or even hundreds – friends who went through the largest co-operative university program in the world. We were drawn in by the promise of success through experience. For some, it’s proving not to be enough. Standards are sky high and it takes everything you’ve got (and then some, and some luck) to stand out from the crowd of applicants battling it out for the few relatively secure, entry-level jobs.

I was offered an incredible opportunity in the fall and it fell through due to a hiring freeze – a common corporate response in this economy. It was a crushing disappointment, but also a huge wake-up call. It was the first time I realized that I was perceiving this problem from the mindset critics are constantly condemning milennials for: entitlement.

So I lost an opportunity and it will probably happen again – because really, you don’t deserve anything until you achieve it. The best advice I can give is to establish a clear vision of where you see yourself and stick to it. Simple as that.

Passion is critical to success.

If you run into a problem, re-evaluate your goals and figure out how you can take a step back (or add a few) in a way that they re-align with your vision and then, just KEEP GOING. We all have dreams, but only the most successful are able to adapt in dynamic conditions and continue to push forward with their goals – and that means A LOT of sacrifices.

Resiliency is key and if you really love what you do, you will figure out a way to make it happen. I might be stressed, a little overworked and still have some learning to do, but I won’t settle for less. Be resourceful, find a way to make ends meet and never lose sight of your vision.

I want to make a living out of contributing to the good of society and the environment. At the core, I’m a social entrepreneur who will do whatever it takes to make good business more accessible and I want to support other young people working towards the same.

What’s your vision?

6 thoughts on “My Take on This Gen Y Debate

  1. hotforbooks says:

    Finishing up my second year and I suppose I should be happy that I’m half way there, but I’m cringing thinking about being in being in this position. I quite like your writing, I’m gonna follow. Good job on this line:
    “Passion is critical to success.”

  2. alittlevoice says:

    I enjoyed the line “On top of juggling coursework”, because I actually had to learn to juggle in my final year. Do you as well? (If so, that sentence was very well played!) I wasn’t sure if they’d continue to run that course.
    Do enjoy your last few weeks!

    1. Nicole Anne says:

      No I haven’t, but that is hilarious!! What course was it taught in? (It wouldn’t surprise me if it was 410… but we have a new prof this year so it may have been removed from the curriculum :p).

      1. alittlevoice says:

        Yeah, 410! It’s was hilarious, and quite fun (although at times if felt EXTREMELY irrelevant). Oh ERS… 🙂

Leave a Reply

