Moving Forward in 2014

2013 was a transitional year. The final stretch of undergrad had me juggling a full course load, an internship, a part-time job, and a social life I refused to give up. April was the roughest month having to close the student chapter of my life, scrambling to find a job, moving to the city with not much of a financial safety net, and proceeding to endure 3 months of anxiety and negative feelings of self-worth while trying find my purpose in life and a job to pay the bills.

It was also a pretty wild year for achievements and adventures.

2014010518202288320140105182538717 20140105183027674

I would write about how I fared with my resolutions for 2013 but to be honest I can’t remember what they were… so this year I’m laying out my resolutions a little differently so I actually stick to them. I wrote down five, and included 5-10 measurable action items I can check off for each.

  1. Launch a new environmental project or business idea that aligns with my career objectives
  2. Improve my technical literacy skills in programming and database management
  3. Be more creative
  4. Live simply, spend less on ‘stuff’ and put more money into savings
  5. Wake up an hour earlier each weekday to work on personal projects (and WRITE MORE BLOG POSTS)

What are your goals/resolutions for 2013? Any awesome ideas you’re turning into reality this year?

Right now I am working on a few cool things, including a social event for environmentally-minded millennials in Toronto – keep an eye out for #GreenPeopleTO over the next few weeks. My SO and I are also starting a food blog which is pending a suitable name and vision.

Later this week I’ll publish a piece on sustainability trends for 2014.

Thanks for reading and I hope your new year is off to a good start!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

